I’m Your Handyman

Not too long ago, I was amazed and somewhat horrified at how much a pregnant woman could eat. Wanda was a bottomless food pit, and as far as I was concerned there was no possible way anything could possibly eat more than she did. Then we had a baby.

03-17-16_11-43-59 AM

The New Champion

Ada eats during the day. She eats at night. It seems like she’s constantly hungry, and she’s not at all embarrassed about letting you know when she’s hungry. It doesn’t matter if it’s in the middle of the night on a work night and you haven’t had a decent night’s sleep for a week; if Ada wants to be fed, she wants it, and she will not be denied.

03-17-16_1-09-57 PM

A baby, and look, a kitchen!

Somehow, though, as indescribably frustrating as it can be to have your sleep interrupted for days on end by The Thing That Will Not Stop Eating, I can’t get too upset about it. Even if I wake up in the morning grumpy as all hell, one little giggle from Ada and it all just fades away. Playtime with Ada is the cure for everything from lack of sleep to work anxiety to a general lack of faith in humanity.  Seriously, if I had known years ago what a stress reliever peek-a-boo with a baby could be, I’d have made on of these things ages ago.

Ada, incidentally, is growing faster than a mold culture on a piece of wet bread. That’s really lit a fire under me as far as building out the home is concerned. You’ll note in the photo above that our outdoor kitchen has become an indoor kitchen. That’s just a small sample of the work I’ve been doing around the house lately.

03-17-16_11-39-42 AM

A place for family dinners

I’ve also been building furniture, fixing the plumbing, running electricity, and just generally working my ass off to make sure this is a home worthy of raising a child in. It won’t be long now before Ada has outgrown her cradle, and when she does, I want to be sure he has all those little things people look for in a home, like floors and walls and running water and stuff. It was my choice to camp out here in the wilderness, not hers. Forcing her to rough it when her friends at school all have actual houses to live in just wouldn’t be fair.

03-17-16_1-19-36 PM

Mr. Fix-It

So I’m willing to live with a little muscle soreness and some smashed thumbs if the end result is a place where Ada can grow up happy. And, hey, it’s not all for her. Wanda and I get to live here, too, so it’s a good deal for all of us.

One thought on “I’m Your Handyman

  1. Edison is just so sweet! 🙂 can’t wait for Ada to grow up

    Like

Leave a Reply

