First Contact

Today was, quite possibly, one of the best days of my life.

It didn’t really start out that way. It was pretty typical, actually. I went to work, did a little experimenting on a new flavor for my energy drink, and spent some time working on the rocket.

03-16-16_5-48-35 PM

Almost Spaceworthy

It’s coming along very nicely. At this point it’s probably just a few pre-flight inspections from a test launch. I’ve already begun kissing all the executive asses required to let me be the guy who takes her for her first flight. I’m also going to have to be extra nice to Wanda, who doesn’t seem thrilled with the idea of her husband strapping a few thousand pounds of rocket fuel to himself and shooting himself into space, but I’m working on it.

That’s not the big news, though. That came a bit later in the day, as I was waiting at the ferry dock with Wanda. She was obviously uncomfortable, as can happen when you’re lugging around a small child in your belly all day. This evening’s discomfort level, however, seemed to be a bit higher than usual. Enough that not taking the ferry, and heading for the hospital instead, seemed like an excellent idea.

03-16-16_5-57-40 PM

Some call it panic, I call it excitement

She was definitely in labor. I handled it like any good husband would — I totally freaked out. Wanda was the model of calm, breathing just like she’d been taught, and doing an amazing job of keeping her composure. I, on the other hand, was running around like a chicken with his head cut off.

03-16-16_6-00-40 PM

Le freak, c’est chic

Fortunately for both Wanda and me, it was a pretty easy delivery. The huffing and puffing and panicking (the first two mostly from Wanda, and the last definitely from me) were thankfully only necessary for a relatively short period of time. From the front desk at the hospital, Wanda was taken almost immediately to a delivery room, where a crowd of masked health workers coached her on when to push and when not to, and when her husband might want to consider trying not to hyperventilate for a while. All of the activity culminated in a lot of pushing, a bit of screaming (admittedly, as much from me as from Wanda), and then the miracle happened.

03-16-16_6-03-41 PM

The new addition

Wanda and I are pleased to introduce the newest member of the Poindexter family. Ada weighs 8 pounds, 2 ounces, is 21 inches long, and is a happy, healthy, bouncing baby girl.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, Wanda and I are both going to pass out for a while.

Leave a Reply

