The End of an Era

Last night was the last night I’ll ever visit Wanda at the club.

03-14-16_12-28-43 PM

My favorite bartender

She just graduated from Windenburg U. with her botany degree, and starts at Omniscience on Monday. I didn’t even know she had applied. I’d have been more than willing to put in a good word for her, but she says it was something she wanted to do on her own.

While I’ll miss the free drinks, I’m very proud of her. She’s been working her pretty little butt off, both at her job and at school, and she deserves every good thing that comes from it. I’m also not going to complain about having a chance to spend more time with her.

While typically, on a weeknight like last night, I would leave before the end of Wanda’s shift to catch the ferry home and get some sleep, this time I stuck around until she got off work and we went back to my place, such as it is, to continue the celebration. Wanda also had a million questions about Omniscience, and what to expect Monday morning, and a noisy bar just wasn’t the right place to talk about stuff like that.

03-14-16_12-35-23 PM

New Employee Orientation

We talked until the sun was coming up. A lot of it was about Omniscience, but a lot of it wasn’t. Wanda is just so easy to talk to that I think I get carried away. I lose all sense of time and it starts to feel like Wanda and I are in our own little pocket of space and time where nothing else matters. Not sleep, not work, nothing.

Thoughts like those were running through my head when, sometime around 6:00 am, I did the unthinkable.

03-14-16_12-40-23 PM

Pop!

No, this isn’t something I’d planned. Yesterday I’d been doing some maintenance on Sparky and somehow there was a titanium gasket left over when I got him all put back together. Hopefully it’s not important. In any case, it is ring-shaped and roughly the right size, and when I felt it in my pocket I knew what I had to do. I dropped to my knee and held up the gasket.

I almost immediately regretted the decision when I saw the confusion on Wanda’s face. She looked at the ersatz ring, and then at me. She looked dazed. For what felt like an eternity, she stared at me as I knelt there, silently, too intent on reading her expression to say…

“Are you asking me to marry you, Edison?” She still looked incredulous.

“Umm, yes,” I stammered. “Please?”

God, I’m pathetic.

03-14-16_12-41-52 PM

He shoots, he scores!

She said yes anyway.

6 thoughts on “The End of an Era

  1. hahahaha omg that proposal. But I’m happy for them ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

